Herbie the egg-stuffed mushroom cap

First can I just say that it’s FRIDAY and I randomly saw Katy Perry’s song “Last Friday Night” on my Spotify (a program which I think has recently gone to the US as well?), so now I can’t stop singing it. Does anyone else have her songs get into your head and refuse to leave??

Anyway.

So busy today. I work for a major news organization so I’m working the evening shift this week. I thought that would give me tons of time during the day to try new recipes, run, work on my blog, but it hasn’t! Next week I’m going to catch up with blogging more in real time, but for now I’m going to post a breakfast I made on the weekend because it still makes me smile.

This is my second blog post and also my second blog post about stuffed food 🙂 I promise I don’t stuff everything!

I think he’s cute. I might name him “Herbie.”

The reason I love him is because 1) He tastes great. 2) He looks great. 3) He’s EASY to make.

I love it when you set food in front of people and it looks like you spent a ton of time and effort preparing it. Herbie is a faker like that.

Preheat oven to 350F.

Take 6 medium mushrooms and scoop out the stems and as much of the inside as possible. Put the caps in a muffin tin so they can be filled. Chop up a few of the stems to put in the egg mixture for extra texture.

Crack an egg into a bowl and mix 3 tablespoons of fresh herbs into the egg, although you can put in however much looks good to you. I chose freshly chopped dill and basil. Add the chopped stems, some salt and pepper and a dash of milk and mix again.

Then pour carefully into the pots. Any extra egg I just scrambled and ate! I suppose you could also fill more mushrooms 🙂

Top with big, thin slices of freshly shaved parmesan and pop in the oven for about 20 minutes or until the top of the eggs are no longer runny.

Once they are done, put the stuffed mushrooms on plates and top with a leaf or two of fresh basil for garnish. The plant on the right is proof that I’m a tried and true basil plant murderer.

Garnish is my favorite part because it really pulls the meal together and makes it look like you put a lot of effort into it!

One the side was a home made blueberry muffin, a fresh bean salad with raspberry vinaigrette and a granola/Greek yoghurt pot.

Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Herbie the egg-stuffed mushroom cap

  1. Oh I love this idea! I have seen a lot of stuffed mushroom recipes, but none that use eggs as the filling. I’m always looking for new breakfast ideas since I don’t use many carbs in my cooking….this is perfect for me. I wonder if you could make a whole tray and then just reheat them throughout the week?

    • I’m not sure actually. To be honest I really don’t even know how I came up with this idea because I don’t use eggs a lot. I think maybe because I recently started liking mushrooms and wanted to try something fun since sometimes like quiche. The only thing I’d worry about is the mushroom cap maybe getting soggy on the bottom or something. If you try it definitely let me know how it turns out!

    • I know! I love quiches but they are SO expensive! This one isn’t as thick as a quiche, though. I’ve never really made quiche because I don’t eat a lot of egg heavy dishes usually. I love these because it’s a perfect little taste of egg but has a lot of veggie as well! I think it would also be good with little pieces of bacon. 🙂

    • I want to say chestnut mushrooms – but I’m not sure. Basically just choose mushrooms that will fit in a muffin tin because that’s the best way to bake them so they don’t fall over. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Egg-Stuffed Mushroom Cap « oneeightoneone

  3. Pingback: Spinach portabellini with melted Halloumi | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

