The other day I read a comment on a blog talking about how vegans shouldn’t eat white sugar. What??
I don’t know about you, but I’ve never associated sugar with animal products so I did a little research to see if there was any validity in this statement. As it turns out, animal bones from slaughterhouses are ground up (called bone char) and incinerated to leave behind active carbon, which is used in the process of stripping the color from sugar to make it white.
To read a bit more about bone char and which sugar processors no longer use it in the sugar refining process, see PETA’s page on it.
I also found out that strict vegans can’t drink certain types of fruit juices because the red coloring in some juices is taken from the scales of insects. Any time you see carmine as an ingredient it has come from a bug.
I kinda feel like Bill Nye the Science Guy right now.
* I originally posted this a few days ago on my sister’s blog, Furry Little Cousins. I wanted to repost here because I think it’s relevant to what I’m writing about.