Who needs Hamburger Helper?

In college Hamburger Helper was the go-to meal for many people, including myself. Even back then I thought that stuff was gross, but it was cheap, quick and easy.

The past couple years I’ve discovered that with a bit of know-how, it’s quicker, cheaper and easier to eat healthy, unprocessed foods. This recipe from Broke Ass Gourmet is a perfect example.

These are my pictures, but I won’t post her recipe since I really didn’t change much. Also you should check her page because she posts some fabulous recipes.

The only thing I’ll say about it is that I think food in England is much cheaper. It didn’t cost me anywhere near the $10 she quotes (in fact, it cost me about $5), and I had enough bean spread for two full baguettes plus some for leftovers!

It couldn’t be quicker. While the baguettes are cooking (unless you bought them already cooked) you mix everything up in a blender or food processor and you’re done. The ingredient list is short and simple but packs a big flavor. I was not expecting this to be as good as it was, but it truly is fantastic.

I should have known. Anything with fresh basil is bound to be good.

Another perk is that they look good by default. The rocket and shaved parmesan definitely make it look like you spent some solid time in the kitchen when really all you did was whir a blender and spread the mix!

Leave off the cheese to make it vegan – it will still be excellent.

I can’t wait to have this again tonight!

4 thoughts on “Who needs Hamburger Helper?

What are your thoughts?

