Destroying food to stay healthy?

I don’t know what Mariah Carey was talking about in her song “Breakdown,” but I’m going to assume it was about lifting weights and then breaking down and eating some really nasty Papa Johns pizza. What else could it be though, really? 🙂

(I’m not even going to pretend this is a good quality photo!)

Ideally when I work out I’d like to eat a healthy snack afterward. Sometimes though, what you really need is a big, greasy slice of pizza. I don’t think anyone should have to feel guilty about that. Health is just as much a mental state, and I truly believe food plays a big part in making people happy so why deny yourself treats every now and again?

In all seriousness, I’ve read some scary, but mostly sad, stories about bloggers in the healthy living community destroying what they deem to be unhealthy food so they don’t eat any more. For example, baking a batch of cookies or a cake, having a bite and then pouring salt on the rest or throwing it in the trash so they can’t consume any more. What??!

I’ve always felt lucky to be a healthy person and I haven’t been sick in about four years. I think it’s OK to eat what you want because moderation is the key, in my opinion. I’m a healthy weight and always have been, and as I said, I’m rarely sick.

Any time I have ever tried to follow a strict eating regime to try to be  “healthier” I’ve ended up eating worse and feeling worse. I’d have huge cravings for certain foods. Rather than being happy with eating one slice of pizza, I’d cave and eat almost all of the pizza. I’m obviously not a doctor, but now I do what’s right for me and what makes me feel the best. What better indicator of health is there?

I really wanted some of that pizza in all its greasy glory last night, so I ate it. Do I eat pizza every night? No. But I eat it when I want it, and I’m feeling just fine.

8 thoughts on “Destroying food to stay healthy?

  1. I am all for eating whatever you want in moderation! There is no way I’m giving up pizza or sweets. I eat healthy the majority of the time, so if I want to go crazy and eat a few pieces of pizza (aka 6), I’m going to do it and not feel guilty about it!

  2. I’m all about moderation too. When I want something, I just eat it. Mind you, I watch my portions but I eat it just the same!

    I’ve had Papa John’s once… bad.. bad experience!

    • If you really want to feel sick, get Papa Johns with their garlic “butter” sauce. About portions, I find the only time I have a problem watching my portions is if I’m actively trying to cut down. Then I just want to eat tons. It’s a mental thing – you want what you can’t have!

  3. Amen to that. Eating less of certain things works so much better for me than just scratching them from the mealplan altogether. Diets that strictly forbid some kind of food always make me crave that thing. Like crazy. I’ll obediently diet for two or three days, then go beserk and have a sugar/carbs/fat/whatever -fest. That can’t really be the point.

What are your thoughts?

