Mango black bean quesadillas

I love quesadillas. Love them! One day I thought I’d try dicing mango and sticking it in my traditional cheesy, red onion, black bean quesadillas. Perfection.

I’ve tried it twice to make sure it wasn’t a fluke,Β and it truly is fantastic. πŸ™‚

Simple mixture. One can of black beans, 1 cup of freshly diced mango, 1 small/medium diced red onion cooked until slightly soft, 1 clove garlic finely chopped, 2 tablespoons lime juice, 1 tablespoon cumin, salt to taste. This recipe will make 2.5 small to medium sizedΒ quesadillas, or 2 large.

You must have a kid to help you mix!

Heat onion and garlic until slightly soft. Add to the black beans and mango and heat until just warm. Butter the pan, lay the tortilla, layer tortilla with your favorite cheese. I used sharp white cheddar because you don’t need to use as much to get a big punch of cheesy flavor.

Add the warmed bean and mango mixture. Before you top with another tortilla, add a few more pieces of cheese so the top tortilla will stick. Flip it and let it cook a couple minutes until browned.

Transfer to a plate and try not to let too much of the cheesy goodness fall out!

As I’ve said before, food tastes better when it’s cut in triangles!

Enjoy!

18 thoughts on “Mango black bean quesadillas

    • Definitely do try!! One piece of advice I probably should have written – I found a whole mango so fussy to cut and dice, so the second time I just spent a tiny bit of extra money and bought it pre diced!

  1. I have to say that with the kids on holiday, i am constantly looking for things the whole family can eat at 7.00 rather than making 2 meals – one at 6 for the kids, because on school nights they have to be in bed early and another later for adults. Mexican does seem too tick lots of boxes. I love black beans and they make a fantastic soup too. Just add a dolop of guacomole or sour cream. Anyway, your quesadillas look yum!

    • You’re right, Mexican is great for so many things! It’s fresh, healthy, quick and packs a ton of flavor! I’ve been wanting to try making a black bean soup for a while because I absolutely love black beans! Especially with guacamole πŸ™‚

  2. Well, this might just be the prettiest quesadilla I’ve come across in a while. How do you cook your tortilla so evenly? Haha, mine are always black in patches, uncooked in others πŸ™‚ Love the idea of sweet mango in a quesadilla, sweet and savory combos are a favorite (especially when warm).

    • Thank you!

      That’s a good question actually and it took me a little while to figure out. I put a small pad of butter (maybe a tsp?) in the pan and let it melt completely. Then I take the tortilla and slide it all around the pan so it spreads the butter out and gets the tortilla evenly coated. I also go ahead and butter one side of another tortilla and set it on the counter for when it’s ready to go on top, that way I don’t have to try to slip butter under the full quesadilla. Seems complicated, but it’s not. I’m just not good at explaining things πŸ™‚

  3. Definitely, quick meals are so much faster and healthier than takeaways. Got takeout tonight and couldn’t help thinking that I could have already been eating by the time I went out and brought it back home again.

    • The only problem for me is planning ahead! I’d hate to see how much money I’d have saved if only I bought enough groceries to last the week instead of running out then having to get takeout.

What are your thoughts?

