Mediterranean-inspired halloumi baguettes

Everyone loves a good sandwich. That’s a basic fact of human life, right?

One of my favorite discoveries in England has been halloumi cheese. The cheese is Cypriot, of course, but it’s readily available here and when I was in the US I’d never heard of anyone eating it.

Even in England I think halloumi doesn’t get the attention it deserves. It is far and away one of my favorite snacks and sandwich fillings.

If you’ve never tried it, simply slice it and heat it on medium-high heat until each side is browned. It’s salty and chewy and unlike any cheese you’ll ever try. So addictive!

This sandwich is stuffed with whole foods and is a simple, quick lunch or dinner.

I used a half-baked baguette and spread pesto thinly on the bottom half. I generally don’t use a lot because pesto can have a strong flavor and I didn’t want it to overwhelm the other flavors.

I topped it with:

– Sliced, grilled (in a pan) halloumi

– Thinly sliced red onion (tip: soak red onion slices in a bowl of water for a few minutes to keep the flavor but take the edge off their bite)

– Pitted and halved kalamata olives

– Fresh baby spinach leaves, washed and patted dry

– Sun-dried tomatoes with a little of the jar’s oil drizzled over the rest of the ingredients

That’s it! I’ve also tried this sandwich with a fresh ball of mozzarella sliced and layered in place of the halloumi and it’s just as good, if not better!

27 thoughts on “Mediterranean-inspired halloumi baguettes

  1. This looks awesome!! I never thought about browning a cheese before serving. I will definitely spread the word about this one! Great post! 😀

    • Yeah, I don’t know. I think you have to brown halloumi before serving, but I’m not sure. It’s an odd cheese! I also think it’s quite expensive in the US. From what I remember it was about $7-8 dollars for a pack? Definitely worth trying though!

    • Thanks! 🙂 Honestly I don’t think cheesy would be the first word. It’s fairly salty and chewy (not in a bad way), but it’s certainly not melty and soft like every other cheese gets when it’s heated. It’s not like anything else I’ve ever tasted, but if you like cheeses you’ll probably like this.

  2. I really like the taste of halloumi cheese and I can imagine that this sandwich would taste great. I’ve only had in a salad before, so thanks for the tip.

    The only thing is, I don’t like the squeakiness of it. Have I cooked it wrongly before?

    • lol! I know what you mean about the squeakiness! I always forget about that until I bite into it, but yes, it is a bit squeaky and I can see how that might be off-putting for some people.

          • I’m actually doing 101 challenges, one of which is a recipe challenge. All to be completed in 1001 days. I first saw the idea on another blog but when I researched it a bit I discovered lots of bloggers started but stopped about half way through. I didn’t want that to happen to me so I asked another blogger to join me and my husband designed us a badge. We started in March and now there are seventeen of us!! We all have our own very different lists but the idea is we encourage and support each other. I’ve since decided one of my tasks should be to find 101 101ers. Please do come over and check my list out!

  3. Halloumi cheese? Why have I not heard of this before? I love cheese, I’ve literally never met one that I don’t like! Where did you buy it? I’m so excited to try it!

    • See! It doesn’t get the attention it deserves! Halloumi should be the most famous cheese ever, but I went my whole life without hearing about it as well! In England they have it in every store, but I’m not sure about the US. I think we got some at Kroger maybe? I’d probably check Whole Foods as well.

  4. Thanks for visiting and for your comments! Love your blog. I’ve been hearing about halloumi, but I haven’t tried it yet. I’ll be on the search now…

  5. That sandwhich looks amazing! I had never seen halloumi in the US either, but I guess it’s pretty popular here. I’ve seen it on menus as an appetizer, grilled, but I’ve been too afraid to try it. Your sandwhich looks great and your descriptions make it sound so good that the next time I’m at a restaurant that has it, I will be ordering it!

  6. Wow, I love the tip about red onions, I’ve been trying to use them in recipes over the last week and kept thinking there should be a way to soften the taste a little bit..

  7. Pingback: Spinach portabellini with melted Halloumi | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

