You say zucchini, I say courgette.

Actually, that’s not true. I don’t say courgette, although it’s one of my favorite Brit words. It just sounds nice to say!

Lately I’ve been wanting to try new zucchini recipes because I love them so much. I saw a recipe on a blog for Mario Batali’s zucchini ricotta fritters and knew I had to try them. You can find the recipe here.

They were surprisingly simple. I know I said it’s hard for me to follow recipes, but I forced myself to follow this one as much as possible because I’ve never made anything like it. I did have to two small changes due to food stock restrictions, but I don’t think that counts. I forgot to buy scallions, so I used half of a finely diced red onion, and I forgot to buy a lemon, so I used 3 teaspoons of lemon juice. I also used a lot less oil to fry them.

I couldn’t stop taking pictures of this beautiful pile of shredded zucchini!

As I said, these are so simple. All the ingredients in a pot, then dump spoonfuls in shallow, hot oil and fry for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden brown.

Perfect side dish to lentil sloppy joes, which I’ll post tomorrow!

21 thoughts on “You say zucchini, I say courgette.

  1. Yummy. I will have to try those, especially since I can make them on the stovetop (no oven til we move into permanent housing).

    I have heard about slicing zucchini lengthwise and very thinly, and then cooking to al dente and using it as a pasta base to go with any pasta sauce you might use with spaghetti. I haven’t tried it yet, but I like the zucchini/onion/tomato combo generally, so I can see that it would be good.

    • That’s actually next on my list to try! I saw the idea recently and just loved the thought of using like a carrot peeler or something to thinly slice it and have it be “pasta.” I’ve also shredded zucchini and put it with a little cream and cheese to make a pasta sauce, that’s good as well.

  2. My family and I were just discussing zucchini bread the other day. We all love it! 🙂 I’ll have to try some of your zucchini ideas. Can’t seem to get enough. 🙂

  3. Ack, I made this recipe a while ago and loved it … I need to make it again! Our farmers market is overrun with summer squash and zucchini. Pretty soon it will all be over, I need to get my fave veggie in.

    I love courgette, but my fave is calling eggplant “aubergine.”

    • Oh my gosh I love that too!! Aubergine sounds so classy and lovely. Eggplant sounds kinda gross. I’d love to have squash and zucchini fresh from a farmers’ market. Maybe someday …

  4. Your pics of the zucchini are great! It looks so fresh. I’ve been seeing zucchini recipes everywhere and I’ve seen these fritters before too. Yours look like they came out perfectly! I haven’t seen zucchini here, so I guess I won’t be trying it anytime soon, but it really looks great!

    • Thanks! And I know what you mean – I don’t know what’s up with the zucchini craze all of a sudden. It’s good, but for some reason it seems to be a trend right now, especially zucchini bread.

  5. These look wonderful. And, sound so much classier when you call them cougrette fritters. Funny how that works. I haven’t lived in London in years, but still get tempted to try recipes that call for Aubergine or Courgette, just got nostalgia’s sake.

    I’ll definitely be making these.

  6. Pingback: Sloppy *lentil* joes | realfunfood

    • Yes – I was regretful that I didn’t have lemon zest because mine could have used a teeny bit more lemon. I’d recommend being sure to get the zest if you try it. Mine were great, but I love lemon!

What are your thoughts?

