Sloppy *lentil* joes

One of the foods that always reminds me of my childhood is sloppy joes. I’m not a huge fan of meat, so when I started seeing recipes for vegetarian and vegan sloppy joes I was all over it.

I’ve seen many recipes for lentil sloppy joes floating around the Web, but the exact sauce mixture I used was by Cassie at Back to her Roots and I have to say it was spot on. The only change I made to her recipe was omitting the green peppers and adding a cup of kidney beans. Green peppers, although I love them, just didn’t fit with my idea of a sloppy joe. The beans were great – exactly what I was hoping.

Trust me – you won’t miss the meat.

Notice the steam coming off the joe! I’d have preferred a whole wheat bun, but I was in a pinch.

Yep! Those are the zucchini ricotta fritters I blogged about yesterday alongside a rocket salad with a home-made cherry vinaigrette dressing.

Tips:

– To make the joes vegan simply swap the Worcestershire sauce for a vegan version.

– Top the joe with small sliced pickles for a fun, cool crunch.

– Don’t be an idiot like me and use red lentils on your first try. Red lentils turn to sludge, and it’s gross.

In other news:

I’M SO EXCITED ABOUT MY TRIP ON SATURDAY. I don’t actually think I’ve mentioned it yet, but I’m going back to the US for two weeks starting Saturday. Hence the reason why I haven’t had time to create any recipes of my own or even cook that much.

So much to take care of. If there’s anything I hate, it’s coming back from a vacation to a dirty home. Before I leave for any vacation I make sure my house is absolutely spotless. There’s also all the present buying and packing, all while I’m trying to train for my 10K run Sept 17 at the US Air Force. Scared!

18 thoughts on “Sloppy *lentil* joes

  1. This food looks awesome! I’m going to try the zucchini fritters soon, especially as our garden is about to be overflowing with zucchinis!

    • That looks great! I’ve been trying to think of a way to use the red lentils I originally bought for the sloppy joes but obviously they didn’t work. They are much more suited for a burger or “meat” loaf type thing. Thanks!

  2. Lentils remind me of my grandma 🙂 I can’t wait to try these! I’m training for a 10K too – but mine isn’t until next spring, haha! I’m sure you’ll do great!

  3. I’ve never had lentils, but I love sloppy joes, so maybe this would be a good way for me (and my kids) to try them. Thanks for the tip about red lentils, that would probably what I would have bought. Good luck on your run!

  4. Lentil joes have been on my “to make” list for forever…they always look so good–and OH do yours fall into that good looking category 😀 I just might have to bump them up in priority a little bit… Red lentils are definitely my favorite lentil, but they do tend to smush, which I love for Indian dishes. Glad you’ve got a trip to be excited about! I hate coming home to a mess, too–gotta clean it all up before I go! And I promise, muffin recipe as soon as I’m back home from my own sort-of vacation 🙂

    • I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of lentil joes until about a month or so ago. It seems so obvious and perfect once you try it. Bump them up on your list! You’ll be super excited, I promise 🙂

What are your thoughts?

