Sliced polenta with Gorgonzola cheese sauce

Hey, look! I cooked again!

Ever since I got back from my vacation I haven’t wanted to do anything except watch movies with Ryan Gosling (how the f did I never notice him before Drive??). I’ve been eating pizzas, fast food and SpaghettiOs. Of course I’ve still bought a full load of groceries each week and then not eaten them. [shame]

A few days ago Laura at Life Needs Edits made a polenta pancetta gratin that left me craving.

I’ve always got a couple scary looking blocks of polenta in my cabinet. Somehow this prepared polenta has only two or so ingredients, so I’m calling it a healthy win. I pulled out all my cheeses and vegetables and came up with a recipe of my own.

Spinachy, carmelized red oniony, Gorgonzola-Parmesan-Brie cheese saucy polenta. 

If I had to make a recipe it would go something like this:

First can I add a little disclaimer: Although this was delish, I really can’t handle much cheese and I know a lot of other people can’t either (or they’re vegan). One sub I’m going to make next time is adding nutritional yeast and vastly cutting back on cheese. This would also be great with one of the thousands of versions of vegan cheese sauces whether it’s a nutritional yeast or tofu “cream” sauce. Also, I’d cook the spinach slightly first so I could pack a lot more in. Or just use a bigger dish …

Slice and layer. I used a bread tin because I was feeling a bit on the wild side.

Thinly slice and carmelize a small red onion. Remember – low heat! Long time!

Make the cheese sauce. Pour a little milk in a pan and shred your cheeses into the milk. Once everything is melty and thicker, add the carmelized onions to the sauce.

Pour about half on the little naked polenta slices.

Layer with fresh (washed) spinach, slices of brie and pour over the rest of the cheesy onion sauce.

Bake for 15-20 minutes at 400 F (200 C) or until cheese is bubbly and browning.

Oh, and don’t forget to enjoy your face off.

15 thoughts on “Sliced polenta with Gorgonzola cheese sauce

  1. I’m drooling and I just finished my lunch, so it’s due to the awesomeness of this dish!

    Whenever I caramelize one onion, I always through a few extra in the pan and pack up the leftovers. It makes a great spread on a sandwich the next day. Yummm.

    • I did the exact same thing!! I estimated on the “one small onion” because I threw in a lot so I’d have extra. Carmelizing onions isn’t what I’d call a fun activity! 🙂

  2. I’ve never seen polenta done like this before. This seems simple enough for a weeknight dinner, but fancy enough to entertain with!

  3. Okay, did your header change a while ago and I just missed it, or is it a recent change? I hope it’s recent and I’m not just horribly unobservant 😀 Love it, either way. Haha, your recipe made me laugh. I’m still giggling, in fact. And now I want some polenta! But am still horrified by memories of making it from scratch–scary tubes only from now on.

    • I think I changed it a few days ago, but thanks for noticing! Oh, and I took one look at how to make polenta from scratch and said no way! I could see horrible memories a mile off haha.

What are your thoughts?

