Best pizza in Tennessee?

Whenever my family travels we always plan out at least half of our restaurants ahead of time to make sure we get local specialities or otherwise recommended food in the area. One of my recent issues of Food Network magazine named City House the best place in Tennessee to get a pizza.

I’m so sorry the photos are crap. I didn’t bring my DSLR, and that’s sad because this place deserves beautiful photos.

I was a bit hesitant, but as soon as we walked into the restaurant I knew it was going to be good. The restaurant is located in the Germantown area of Nashville, and isn’t very obvious that it’s a restaurant. It’s not a place I can imagine people simply stumbling across. That being said, the restaurant was very nice and the kitchen was nice and open. I love being able to see the big pizza ovens and the chefs cooking.

When I asked the server at City House if my mom and I should get one pizza each she told us one would be enough to share.

Let me back track for a second. When we visited a well-known pizzeria in Stamford, Connecticut I asked if we should share or get our own.

No. Everyone gets their own. [scowl from server]

“Ohhhh … kaaayy.” So we got our own. And she was right. It was so good we needed our own.

The City House lady was not right. It was not enough to share. It was so good and so thin that we needed our own so as soon as we took one bite my mom ordered another.

Not the best picture, but you get the idea. Ultra thin, fresh, delicious. My main problem with pizza is that although I LOVE it, so many of them have too much cheese and I feel sick for hours afterward. Not a problem here!

City House put home-made mozzarella on it so it was light and refreshing. Perfect. It was real mozzarella, too. Not that shredded, flavorless American “mozzarella” you get in bags at the supermarket.

It was all topped off by two gorgeous desserts, of which I’ll show you only one because I’m a B.

I was a happy camper.

Verdict: Best pizza in Tennessee? I’m not from Tennessee so I can’t say yes or no, but I will say this place is fantastic and definitely worth a visit if you’re in the Nashville area.

5 thoughts on “Best pizza in Tennessee?

  1. Soo, despite living in Nashville, I’ve never heard of City House. And then I polled my coworkers to make sure it wasn’t just me, and they hadn’t either. Haha, I may see if I can drag everyone there for an extended lunch one day and get myself a cheese-less pizza. My by-far favorite pizza in Nashville is Pie in the Sky. Yummm. Flat crust there too, and one is just barely enough to share as long as you get an appetizer–but it’s a laid-back beer-and-pizza place, not as classy a place as City House. Glad you had some good food in my city!

    • Oh that sounds awesome too!!! Too bad I didn’t ask you before I went 🙂 How did Food Network manage to hear about City House?? It’s not obvious it’s a restaurant either!

What are your thoughts?

