A food blogger confession

There’s something about me which might cause me to be banned from the food blog community.

I’m not a fan of oatmeal, and I *hate* overnight oats. I hate overnight oats, I hate oats in a jar, I hate anything related to this. I don’t even care if it tastes like pumpkin pie or is as gorgeous as one of Kath’s creations. Get that mush out of my face and give me something savory. Savory breakfasts > sweet breakfasts.

I also strongly dislike Clif Bars. I hate all granola bars but these really take the biscuit. How do people eat these things? Every time I eat one not only am I not full, but I feel sick. This might be part of my aversion to oat-y things. I don’t know.

Oatmeal for breakfast is a stupendously giant trend in the food blog community right now, so every time I read an oat post I think, “Am I the only freak who does not enjoy this?”

A toasted Marmite and cheese Panini or bagel for breakfast? That’s what I’m talking about. I’m trying to start the Marmite trend in the US because it’s really popular in England and I LOVE IT. If you don’t know what it tastes like, I don’t really know how to describe it other than being super salty. So spread thin if it’s your first time.

Marmite. Buy some.

23 thoughts on “A food blogger confession

  1. Marmite is really something I had to learn to eat, I absolutely loathed it the first time I tried it, but actually quite enjoy it now from time to time (still preferably with some jelly top it off though ^^)

  2. Ooh, Marmite is so good–but I have no idea where to find it in the U.S. In fact, the first and only times I’ve had it were in Africa, haha. And while I would have no idea what to eat for breakfast if oatmeal (with peanut butter, I do love my savory) didn’t exist, I’m not too fond of the overnight oats either.

    • I think in Ohio they might have it in the British section of bigger supermarkets, and there are also a couple British food stores there but that could be because there’s a huge Air Force base nearby. I used to love oatmeal when I was younger, and regular hot oatmeal with fruit is good as snack or on the odd occasion but I just can’t eat sweet stuff for breakfast!

      • I definitely switched from sweet oatmeal (with brown sugar melted on top) to the heartier version–I’m not a big sweets for breakfast person either. Although, I did have leftover apple crisp for breakfast this morning–so I clearly don’t know what I’m talking about. Hmm, I should at least look at the International section of Whole Foods, I think I’ve always just assumed it isn’t available around here.

    • Oh my gosh those look amazing!! I’m definitely going to try. I’ve had an idea in my head for a while for some kind of savory/spinachy muffin but I just haven’t been sure about a recipe I want to try/develop.

  3. I’ve never tried Marmite, but I tried Vegemite when we lived in Australia. I think they’re similar, but not sure. I bet people in the US could find it at World Market; they sell food from all over, including Tim Tams from Australia. Best.cookies.ever!

    I love breakfast precisely because I can have sweet and savory in the same meal. Awesome. I love oatmeal because I can make it sweet and I love sweet things:) But you’re right; there’s definitely oatmeal overkill on food blogs! I don’t love it THAT much.

    • You lived in Australia??? I want to know more! You should write a post about it.

      I used to love oatmeal. I think I hated the overnight oats so much, and then seeing it on so many blogs turned me off of it. I may rediscover it sometime, but I still don’t think it would ever be an every day thing for me again. Kinda sad because it’s so easy.

      Oh, and yeah Vegemite is just like Marmite except maybe a little less strong. I tried Vegemite before I had Marmite and that’s how I got into it. There are quite a few Aus/Kiwi shops in London so I’ll have a look for Tim Tams. I love a good cookie!

      • It was just for a summer when I was in middle school and my dad was working in Sydney. Then he married an Australian, so I got to go back in high school. Best experience ever though and probably how I got the travel bug.

        Definitely try Tim Tams if you come across them. I used to have my dad bring them back every time he went over, but then I found them at World Market, so
        I can get my Tim Tam fix anytime I need it:) So freaking good. In fact, now I really want one!

  4. I don’t normally join in hate-outs, but I hate oatmeal too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’d rather eat cat food than oatmeal, and I’m almost positive the #1 ingredient in Clif bars is cardboard. I do love me some soy yogurt in the morning, but I agree that breakfasts are best less sweet. I love plain yogurt with 5-10 drops of lemon extract stirred in, then topped with sunflower/pumpkin seeds, almonds/English walnuts and some fresh fruit <– love!

    I am among the USers to have never tried Marmite, and I'm a lil afraid of it…
    #1) Is it vegetarian?
    #2) Do you know of a place in the US that carries it or do you think I'd likely have to get it online?
    #3) Is it good on stuff other than bread? – gluten 😦

    • Yep – I agree about the yogurt. Sometimes as a side dish for my breakfast I make a little tiny pot of Greek yogurt with fresh fruit, granola or walnuts and some honey (I have “honey” made from fruit, not bees, even though I’m not vegan).

      Your gluten-free Marmite question has me stumped at the moment, but now I’m on a mission to find a good gluten-free alternative because it’s such a great snack. I’m pretty sure it’s vegan because it’s just yeast extract. Be careful about buying different brands because there is a similar product that has beef something in it. It’s called Bovril I think.

      I don’t know if Marmite is gluten free. Here are the ingredients for it:
      Yeast Extract
      Salt
      Vegetable Extract
      Niacin
      Thiamin
      Spice Extracts
      Riboflavin
      Folic Acid
      Celery Extract
      Vitamin B12

      I’m certain you can get it in the US, but I can’t think of a specific place. They usually have British shops in most cities, they’re just hard to find and small. Specialty supermarkets always have it, and bigger ones that have a British section will have it. I don’t know if it’s just an Ohio thing, but a lot of big groceries there will have British sections.

      • Excellent! Thanks so much! I’ll definitely be sure to stick with the real deal and avoid any imitators.

        Any thoughts on non-bread vessels to eat it on? All I’ve people recommend for it is bread, crackers, toast. I can get gluten free versions of those things, but if there’s a cheaper alternative that you’ve tried and is still yummy, I’d love to try that too!

        • I think it might be great on carrot sticks or something. Just don’t use too much since it’s so strong, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t be good on veggies. Also, I saw a Marmite cookbook this weekend and they used a tad bit of Marmite to make a salad dressing. I’m going to try that and I’ll post.

  5. Go you for starting the Marmite trend in the US! I’m English and I absolutely love it. Did you know that it’s been banned in Denmark?!

    When I first started reading American food blogs, I actually couldn’t figure out what this oatmeal stuff was that everyone loved so much. Then I realised it was what I would call porridge… which really is not that exciting. It’s ok sometimes, and keeps me full for ages, but it’s not really something I would choose to eat or rave about. I agree that savoury breakfasts are so much better!

    • I had no idea!! I just did some research on it – it seems like they’re super strict on foods, which seems like it could be a great thing considering how many crap foods in the US are marketed as “healthy” because they have added vitamins and minerals.

      And yes, in England I had to get used to saying porridge, which I love because it sounds so quaint!

What are your thoughts?

