Red Hot Chicken Salad ( + potential giveaway!)

Hey there! Due to my obvious love of Frank’s RedHot sauce, I was contacted last week to create a recipe for Frank’s RedHot sauce in light of the upcoming bonfire night. Every year on November 5 in England people around the country have fireworks and bonfires where they burn effigies of Guy Fawkes. This has been happening since Fawkes’ failed attempt to blow up Westminster Palace in 1605.

Burning effigies aside, it’s a fun day!

I’ve always heard about food bloggers being contacted by companies to host giveaways and such, but I thought since I was such a newbie I’d never be contacted. Not that I really wanted to be. I always thought I’d never be interested in anything a company had to offer.

Then I got contacted about my absolute favorite sauce in the whole world, of my entire life, so of course I said yes. They said they’d compensate me for the task, plus send some bottles of Frank’s to give away to some readers.

I wasn’t sure what to make at first. I was eating chicken salad when I read the e-mail, and ever since then I couldn’t stop thinking about a chicken salad made with Frank’s. I don’t know, maybe people make this all the time but it’s something I’d never had or heard of anyone having. It seems so simple, but simple things usually are the best!


As you all know, I love simple things with a big bang of flavor. The only thing difficult about this is that if you want the best taste, use meat from a whole roasted chicken. I’m picky about the meat I eat, so I generally try to buy only organic, humanely raised chickens.

But really, roasting one isn’t even difficult. It just requires time.

 My lunchbox for work today:

So good! I used crème fraiche in the mix, and the whole time I could not stop thinking about the South Park crème fraiche episode.

Maybe don’t listen to this at work since it says the F word.

The ingredients are listed below – simply combine everything and put on mini rolls, hot dog buns, anything you want! To be honest I prefer to eat chicken salad on its own with no bun. If you’re keeping it for leftovers, add a bit more sauce.

As far as the giveaway thing goes, I’ll post more about that later!

10 thoughts on “Red Hot Chicken Salad ( + potential giveaway!)

  1. Frank’s contacted you!!??!!

    Yay! That is awesome. Congratulations.

    Because of your Franks Love, it was one of the first items I stocked in our pantry here. I even used it tonight on my latest invention – sourdough bread nacho salad. I was gonna photoblog it, but I wanted it to be a special meal for me, which it was. Anyway I laid salad greens on a plate (crunch of the omitted tortilla chips). The nacho prep was cutting up previously-crusty, currently semi-stale-and-crusty sourdough and laying out on a pan and topping bread with sliced fresh mozz, salsa, Frank’s and a touch of olive oil. Let bread soak hat stuff up for 20 minutes or longer if you can wait. Then I shredded fresh parm onto it and baked for about 10 minutes. Delicious and filling and not so unhealthy. and it really started with me seeing Frank’s in the fridge and asking “what could i make for dinner using Frank’s?”. Oh yea, hubby not home for dinner helped, too

  2. Hi Sara. What a great lunch to have – These look amazing and I can just imagine the spiciness of it. I know this is you favourite sauce but have you ever tried this same recipe with some fresh chillies?

    • I haven’t, but I would love to. I actually thought about adding some fresh chilies, and I think it would give it a really nice kick because Frank’s is hot, but it’s not really spicy to me. If you try it, let me know!

  3. No joke, I just posted a recipe that I used Frank’s Red Hot. It is my favorite too!! That’s too funny. These look really good! I would make them if I ate chicken!

    • I thought about that! I was worried that most people who read my blog would be American so I wouldn’t be able to send any out. And yep, I love sriracha. Especially mixed with mayo, but I know you’re vegan so that’s not really helpful!

What are your thoughts?

