Spinach portabellini with melted Halloumi

No natural light for photos makes me sad, but this recipe made me quite a bit happy.

I may have to rename this blog “let’s get stuffed” due to all the food being stuffed in other foods. Although getting stuffed sounds inappropriately dirty. Google may misinterpret it, and no one needs to see body part enlargement ads.

Whatever. Let’s get stuffing. This is a minimal ingredient recipe and takes about 15 minutes to prep and bake. Easy!

I’ve been craving mushrooms for no good reason, so I bought some portabellini ‘shrooms from Waitrose because they seemed like a good stuffing size.

Oddly, I think I’m in love with the word “portabellini.” It just sounds fun, like it should always be written in a cursive font.

This is a really weird train of thought, but saying I’m in love with a word made me think about my 2008 trip to Sea World San Diego and the whale trainer was talking about what it was like to have a relationship with a whale. My sister and I started giggling hysterically while everyone else in the audience maintained maturity and listened intently about the rigors or whale training.

Again, if you haven’t tried Halloumi, stop wasting time!

If you’re stuffing 3-4 mushrooms for yourself, grab a couple giant handfuls of freshly washed spinach to steam until barely wilted.

Scoop out the cups.

Line a baking tray with aluminum (Brits say aluminium!) foil and drizzle with balsamic vinegar, olive oil and lots of finely ground sea salt. Slide the mushrooms around in the mixture so they’re nice and coated.

Top with sliced Halloumi.

Bake at 200 C or 400 F for 10 minutes or until Halloumi is soft and slightly browned on the edges.

Serve over spinach, with torn basil or totally on their own. They’re delightful!

8 thoughts on “Spinach portabellini with melted Halloumi

  1. let’s get stuffed sounds like a fantastic blog name!!! 🙂 these photos are gorgeous and have officially made me very hungry! it looks so easy to make! i love to make stuffed mushrooms so i’m looking forward to giving this recipe a shot! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

