Crazy train

I’m going to start with a song because I’ve been listening to it all day. You’ll probably hate it, but if you feel like listening to a Kenny Chesney live cover of John Mellencamp’s Hurts So Good then this will make your day!

By the way, both Kenny Chesney and John Mellencamp are amazing in concert.

I woke up at 5 am today to make it to work by 6. You’d think I’d be tired after working this early all week, but no. I injected coffee straight into my system at exactly 6:01 and the rest is history.

I watched videos of roller coasters, white water rafting, and talked about skydiving. I Facebooked (yes, that’s a verb in my world), blogged and chatted my face off. This may give the impression that I don’t work at work, but I assure you I do. It’s just that on occasion people don’t have a lot of news to tell the world at 6 am.

Anyway, I was in a fit of giggles all day so I had to control myself. Then I was waiting on the train from Waterloo and just as it was about to leave a guy comes running full speed toward the doors shouting “IS THIS TRAIN GOING TO WIMBLEDON???” The doors slammed shut in his face and all was silent until a guy goes, “Not for you!”

I felt so bad for him because all Londoners have been there, but I lost it. Everyone around us started laughing, and seeing as how I was repressing my hyperness all day I was laughing out loud. Fifteen minutes later I got off the train and like a crazy person was laughing to myself on the walk home.

That’s when I decided I was never going to sleep tonight if I still had this much energy so I laced up my running shoes and ran 2.5 miles. It hurt. I haven’t been running since October 16, when I ran a 5K in Clapham. That hurt, too, because before that I hadn’t put on my running shoes since September 17 when I ran a 10K in the Air Force Marathon. Ow!

I’ve decided I definitely want to start training for a half marathon. It’s actually happening. I was looking into training plans this week and now all I need is to find a suitable race!

(tomorrow is FRIDAY!!!!!)

4 thoughts on “Crazy train

  1. Awesome! Good luck finding a race! Half marathons are such a great distance – they really push you, but are totally doable! I used Hal Higdon’s beginner’s training plan for my first race and it was really helpful framework for starting off. (Just Google him, they’re everywhere!)

  2. Do the half marathon! Believe in your body- it’s amazing what the human body can do. And I love getting the giggles awkwardly by myself- my students call me out on “randomly smiling” all the time.

What are your thoughts?

