Spiced-up Greek salad

My hand has a problem. It will be working nicely with my other hand making a beautiful meal when all of a sudden it will reach up into the cabinet, pull out a jar of chipotle chili powder and sprinkle a few dashes in whatever dish it was preparing.

This weekend it happened to be a Greek salad, which for some odd reason I was tremendously craving.

However cute they are, and they are pretty darn cute, I’m just not a fan of cherry tomatoes in salads.

Salads definitely need a bright pick-me-up, so I took a chance on subbing sun-dried tomatoes in my Greek salad.

So glad I did! The sun-dried tomatoes plus the red onions made for a perfectly colorful salad.

The few dashes of spicy chipotle chili powder gave it a fun kick and totally worked against the cool flavors of the feta and cucumber.

I used my trick of soaking the sliced red onions in water for 10-15 minutes to take the bite out of them before putting them in the mix.

1 cup sliced sun-dried tomatoes
1 cup torn, fresh mint leaves
1 cup diced cucumber
1 cup sliced black or kalamata olives
1/2 red onion, finely sliced or diced
1/2 cup crumbled feta (or more, depending on how much cheese you like!)
olive oil – drizzle
red wine vinegar – drizzle
lemon juice – 1/2 lemon or a couple squirts of bottled
sea salt+ pepper to taste
chipotle chili powder – a few dashes
1 tbsp oregano

I prepared all the ingredients and let them marinate for a few hours before having the salad for dinner. I served it over Dolce Verde lettuce, but it would be good to eat on its own as well. I’m in love with red wine vinegar, so I added a bit more to the salad before I chomped away.

Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Spiced-up Greek salad

What are your thoughts?

