A meatless resolution.

I know I said I don’t like New Years resolutions, but I actually have a goal to achieve this year – cut as much meat from my diet as possible and consume far less dairy.

My Christmas dinner is a perfect example.

After going all out for Thanksgiving I wasn’t keen on having a repeat for Christmas. The Thanksgiving dinner was spectacular and I loved making/eating it, but it was a full day’s work and I like to chill out on Christmas.

As good as the meal was, I felt like I would have been just as happy with no meat.

I stuck with two simple sides. One was the vegan fennel sage stuffing that I made for Thanksgiving because I’ve been looking for an excuse to have that again.

The Brussels sprouts were good, but the chopped bacon was added for the man.

I chopped the sprouts, diced a couple apples, added bacon and then cooked it all up in a maple-Dijon sauce. A bit of olive oil, a bit of maple syrup, and a small spoonful of spicy Dijon mustard.

I roasted a whole chicken, and it was good, but I was sad that I didn’t try to make a festive dinner with no meat on the table. I had wanted to try that all year but caved in the end. I don’t want that to be the case in 2012.

I feel I’m a good enough cook now to be able to come up with some creative non-animal foods, and that’s what I’m going to work on this year.

9 thoughts on “A meatless resolution.

  1. It’s going to be great! Looking forward to your creations.
    With my family I’d have a revolt on my hands if I prepared vegan meals all the time, but the animal protein free nights are when everyone feels the best.

  2. Woohoo! I LOVE the goal! If you need any vegan advice, you know who to ask 😀 And I still need to make that stuffing, it looks even more delicious this time around, and it looked pretty darn good at Christmas…

  3. Sweet!!This totally gets my stamp of approval! Can’t wait to see what you come up with and give em a try. This year was my first vegan gluten free holiday season and it’s amazing what you can come up with if you’re willing to try!

    • Not that tons of people read my blog, but I think a lot who do are vegan/vegetarian and I’ve seen a lot of recipes on blogs like yours that have inspired me. One of the reasons I love blogging so much!

      • Aww thanks! I can tell you really enjoy it!! The post after this one (the hurty one) is just down-right hilarious. As my schedule starts to fill back up for the year, I’m definitely going to be keeping a close eye on your blog and see where you run with it – keep up the friggin great posts!

  4. Pingback: A London Saturday and a lazy Sunday | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

