The lone spud.

Single for Valentine’s Day? No problem. Enter: spud.

A lone spud, filled with a seasoned cream cheese and diced cucumbers, is the perfect single-person food.

(I actually made a recipe!)

Please excuse my potato’s bare butt. There were the tiniest of sprouts that had appeared on him, but nothing a little surgery couldn’t fix.

I’ve been really craving cucumbers lately. I’d hate to see what would happen if I ever got pregnant, or as the Brits say, if I ever “fell pregnant.”

Very simple. While your medium-sized potato is microwaving (for about 6 minutes), dice 1/4 cup cucumber.

1 tablespoon of cream cheese + 1/2 tablespoon butter (I used soy butter spread)

Add a shake of garlic powder, a shake of onion powder, pepper, salt, and 2-3 shakes of dill.

Mash it.

Slice a cross in your spud, push it open, and stuff in the cheese mixture.

Top with your cucumber.

Chow down.

I actually ended up adding another teaspoon of butter, but that’s just because I like my potato soaking. The recipe makes the perfect amount for a normal person.

Hope you had a good Valentine’s, whether single or attached. I’m about to head off on a girly date to try out a Korean restaurant with my housemate!

8 thoughts on “The lone spud.

    • Thanks!
      About Earth Balance, I’m not sure I’ve seen it, but I’d like to try it because I hear so much about it. To be honest I wouldn’t have bought the soy butter if there had been options available! I’m really skeptical about it health wise, but the taste it OK.

    • Thank you! Sadly no, all my pictures at night turn out horribly. I took them in early evening by a window with the light shut off so there’d be only natural light, then brightened them up a bit in Photoshop.

  1. I was kind of hoping you were going to give me all the answers! Sadly I don’t get home until after it is dark and haven’t had much spare time on the weekend. I will just hold out for spring so I can have amazing pictures like yours 🙂

What are your thoughts?

