A new favorite day.

I think I’m starting to like Sundays, and I never thought I’d say that! Between my job, friends, keeping fit and cooking, I don’t have much time to just do nothing. (Or blog!)

I have even less time lately, because I’ve been totally addicted to The Hunger Games. I read the first book in two days, and I’m almost done with the second already.

Today started only an hour ago, and with my new favorite snack – smashed avocado over toast.

I slice an avocado, squeeze a bit of lime juice, sea salt and pepper, then smash it and spread it over my favorite sunflower & barley wheat bread.

On the side was the usual iced coffee, but with a twist. My favorite coffee shop on Carnaby Street serves iced coffee with a bit of ice cream, but I’ve had trouble finding a good non-dairy ice cream to recreate this joy.

At Whole Foods Friday I found a vegan chocolate ice cream made with coconut milk. My goodness. I don’t think it’s hyperbolic to say it’s the best ice cream I’ve ever had. I’m in love.

Iced coffee in my Ohio mug with Oatly brand oat milk, Starbucks via packet, and a couple scoops of Bessant & Drury’s dairy-free ice cream.

Now I’m off to buy this shirt at Banana Republic:

I’m cooking dinner for a friend tonight, but I’m still not sure what I’m going make because this dude loves meat. (Ha!) Every time I speak to him he’s got some giant slab of meat roasting in the oven, so we’ll see how he feels about a giant roasted carrot. 🙂

One more thing. I can’t stop listening to this song. It makes me want to take a drive on a sunny day with the windows down and this blasting in the background.

11 thoughts on “A new favorite day.

  1. Really, really good stuff! Even though I’ve ditched the coffee, I want to try it your way. We only have So Delicious coconut milk “ice cream,” but hopefully with the arrival of Trader Joe’s soon, more options. Avocado on toast. So smart.
    Embracing Sundays…I’m with you.
    Last note: My meat lovers have been pretty happy with the vegan sesame faux chicken noodle dish I’ve made lately–have you tried Gardein mandarin orange crispy chickn?

    • Thanks! Why did you quit coffee? I was trying to cut back because I thought it was making me sick, but it turns out it was all the milk in the coffee I was drinking! Even still, I limit it to one cup a day generally because I don’t want stained teeth and also my head just starts to feel weird.
      About the noodle dish, I don’t think we have that brand in England, but just today I was looking at a vegan sesame noodle recipe and thinking of trying one. Do you have one on your blog?

    • Thank you! I’m SO ashamed to admit I don’t like raw tomatoes. They are so beautiful, juicy and healthy looking, but I just can’t get into it despite how much I want to! I really do think they’d be perfect with avocados!!

    • YES. I still don’t have the third book, which is really making me angry. I have been too busy to go get it, and the second book ended on a giant cliff hanger. I also really love the Taylor Swift song she made for the movie. It’s haunting! Are you going to see it?

What are your thoughts?

