One is not enough

I woke up to bright light, but as soon as I took out my earplugs I heard the telltale sign of the stereotypical English day.

I have to be fair to England in saying it really doesn’t rain as much as people would have you think. Don’t be fooled into thinking I’m saying the weather is nice, because you’ll generally have between three and five nice days per year here, but at least it’s not raining.

While I’m waiting for my veggie (vegan) bean burgers to cook I’m listening to Dayton, Ohio’s WHKO K99.1 FM country music radio station, all the way in London. I was ecstatic to discover I could listen to my favorite radio station over here.

Good thing: I can keep current on country music and Dayton news, and it makes me feel like I’m at home when I’m most likely sitting at my desk at work.

Bad thing: It makes me want to go home immediately. When the radio hosts are talking about weather and driving conditions, it reminds me of driving around the city in my car and going to do all the little things I can’t do anymore, like lunch with my mom! Not that I’d ever want to actually live in Dayton, but it’d be nice for it to not be a once-a-year production.

When I put the veggie burger on the pan all I could think was: one is definitely not enough.

Two veggie burgers, salsa, lightly steamed kale topped with a bit of Frank’s Red Hot sauce.

These were SO good. Any time I see a veggie burger coated in breadcrumbs I immediately think it’s going to be gross. This was one of the best burgers I’ve ever tasted, and it was even a frozen burger! Two strikes against it, but it prevailed.

I’m absolutely loving kale these days. I’ve never used it for a breakfast before, but it totally works.

I’m heading off to pick up my race packet for tomorrow’s 5K race in Clapham, and then I’m meeting a few of my friends at an espresso bar in Soho. Hope it’s good!

9 thoughts on “One is not enough

  1. Veggie burgers? Abomination! :p

    Seriously though, they look yummy.

    I haven’t eaten nearly enough Kale to judge it properly, but they look vibrant and alluring as hell on that plate.

    And England! One of the places I dream of visiting. Are you there on vacation or have you moved there?

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • I’ll admit that many veggie burgers can be gross, but these were good by any standards! They were spicy Mexican flavor, which I love!

      Kale is great too, and I also have not eaten enough in my life. It’s kind of becoming an obsession lately where I’m using it in tons of recipes.

      I moved to London a couple years ago and am here for another year or so. Definitely come visit – it’s a really really great tourist place and I highly recommend it. I don’t know you, but I’m sure you’d love it 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Haha, you may not know me, but you guessed 100% correctly. I’ve been dreaming of visiting England since I was a kid.

    Which is pretty odd in itself when I think about it.

    I’m infinitely curious as to why people move anywhere, so if you don’t mind my asking, why’d you move to England and why the move back (I’m assuming you’re moving back to the States, unless you’re going to another place that I’d enviously want to go 🙂 )?

    • I moved over here because I used to be married to an Englishman, and now I’m still here trying to save up money to eventually move back home. Not sure where I’ll go, but I’m thinking NYC or somewhere like Hawaii! So now I’m just enjoying my time as a Londoner, because there are so many things to do here!!

      • Awesome!

        Hawaii or NYC? Talk about polar opposites. 😛

        I hear it’s pretty expensive in Hawaii (since so much has to be imported). But, people say the same about NYC; I’ve lived in NYC all my life and it doesn’t seem too expensive at all.

        • True! Everyone says both are SO expensive … but I live in London so I really can’t imagine it’s any worse.

          NYC – I’ve always wanted to live there and it seems to have the most editorial job opportunities
          Hawaii – Weather!!!

  3. I can completely sympathise with your weather envy! I’ve been in England for the last year and a half now. When I hear that the sun is shining and the flowers are blooming at home in Michigan, sometimes I want to pack my bags (only sometimes) 🙂 The kale looks delicious, by the way! I keep meaning to try it.

    • Definitely try kale, it’s so full of flavor that it barely needs any seasoning! Are you in London as well?

      And yes, summertime is the hardest for me. I don’t miss Midwestern winters but knowing it’s nice and hot during the summer kills me when I have to wear a jacket every day during the summer here!

  4. Pingback: Saturday afternoon in London’s Soho | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

