Healthy spinach and artichoke dip

I haven’t had spinach and artichoke dip from a chain restaurant in so long that I honestly couldn’t even estimate how many years it’s been. I still remember, however, how much I used to love that gooey, creamy dip.

These days I wouldn’t go near anything with that much dairy. As good as spinach and artichoke dip is, it’s not worth feeling sick all day!

The thing I always liked most about this dip is the spinach, so I set out to make a dip free from dairy that still boasts an addictive flavor.

While this dip is far from any commercial spinach artichoke dip you’ll ever buy, I guarantee you’ll love this light version!

It was easy to make, too.

When I peeled my onion I got a little surprise. It was like two onions in one shell:

Diced them up and lightly sautéed them while I got the rest of my ingredients together.

To make the sauce I started with cashews, nutritional yeast (for a bit of cheesy flavor), nutmeg, salt and pepper.

Add this to a jar of marinated artichokes, a couple cloves of garlic, and blend in a food processor.

Is there any way to make processed food look appetizing? Because this looks … gross.

Here’s your chance to be smarter than me. I thought it would be OK to mix the artichokes and spinach in the bread pan. Not OK. Mess everywhere, and I had to dump everything in a mixing bowl, which I obviously should have done in the first place!

Once it’s mixed, dump it in the pan.

Bake for about 10 minutes, then yank it out of the oven. (I have this problem of cooking/baking when I’m starving and I end up devouring before I can photograph)

I’ve shown you only half of the baked dip because the other half was an experiment with vegan mozzarella that supposedly melts, but I found out it doesn’t. It worked well inside the dip, but not layered on top. Also, there’s a giant dent in the dip from where my fork accidentally kept going into it and “taste testing” before I was able to snap a pic.

Eat up! I had mine with a freshly baked baguette, but it would have been better with tortilla chips or vegetables. I ended up just eating the dip with a fork straight from the bowl!

Ingredients:

Half a bag of frozen whole leaf spinach (about 500 grams)
1 med onion
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
3/4 cup cashews
1/2 cup vegan mozzarella (or real mozz or cheddar)
1 tbsp vegan parmesan (or real)
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 cloves garlic
1 medium jar marinated artichokes + a little of the oil from the jar (about 200 grams drained)
1/2 tsp salt (or more to taste)

Directions

Place the spinach in a pan on low-medium heat and let it cook while you prepare everything else. Be sure to stir it occasionally.

Dice the onion and saute lightly.

Put the cashews, nutritional yeast, nutmeg, salt and pepper in the food processor along with the diced onion, garlic cloves and artichokes. I poured a small amount of the artichoke oil into the mixture. Add more if it doesn’t process well.

I wanted my mixture to be a bit chunky, but process it as smooth as you’d like.

By the time this is done your spinach should be cooked. I used a slotted spoon to drain the spinach and put it in a bowl. Add your artichoke mixture and the shredded cheese, and mix.

Place mixture in a baking pan and bake on 200 C/ 400 F for about 10 minutes, or until the top is starting to brown.

Remove from oven and try not to eat too much straight from the pan!

16 thoughts on “Healthy spinach and artichoke dip

    • It tastes totally different when it’s in a food as opposed to being made into a cheese sauce of it’s own. Try the butternut squash cheeze sauce, that was really really good!!

    • I would think this version would be fairly low cal, because it really is mostly spinach and I don’t think nutritional yeast or artichokes have high cals either. The cashews would have a bit, but there are only 3/4 of a cup in the whole dip.

  1. Wow, this looks amazing. I am not familiar with “nutritional yeast”. Is this needed for taste, digestion, nutrition, texture, replacement for dairy? Such an education. So glad to be “following”, and look forward to more!

    • Thank you!! 🙂

      About nutritional yeast, it’s kind of hard to explain … but it’s used a lot in vegan cooking because it has a slight cheese flavor when it’s put in other things. It’s like little yellowish flakes. I wouldn’t expect it to taste just like cheese, but I think it’s great in dishes like this. You can usually buy it at health food stores or places like Whole Foods.

  2. Oooooh, I love this recipe. I have to find nutritional yeast and start using it. I have eaten it several times now, but I’ve not had it in my own kitchen.

    The only thing I was thinking was “How much Frank’s did she use?” and it’s not even in the recipe. Of course, I can always add a little to anything, that goes without saying.

  3. Ohh, I’ve been looking for a good vegan spinach dip recipe for ages! I’ll have to try this one, if I ever get brave enough to buy fake mozarella again. Maybe like you say, if it’s IN and not ON TOP, it won’t look/feel/taste like melted plastic.

    • Yeah, I’ve been so skeptical of vegan cheese for two reasons. One, I don’t like to buy processed things with weird ingredients. Two, it looks disgusting and doesn’t melt. In the dip it was fine, although to be honest I’m really not sure it added much flavor.
      What I’m going to do next time is skip the vegan mozz and add more artichokes. This dip could do with more artichokes in any case.

What are your thoughts?

