Sun in the City (and healthy broccoli cheese soup!)

Here’s how it goes. I work in the basement of a building (editors don’t need natural light to survive), so the first half of the day I’m fine. Then I go to lunch and realize it’s gorgeous outside. I come back to work and I sit there all afternoon knowing what I’m missing.

See, some people say working in a basement is crap. I like to think of it as half a blessing, because while all the sales people are sitting upstairs looking out the window all day and knowing they are trapped in a freezing office, I’m sitting downstairs in total ignorance so I have to endure the knowledge that I’m missing sunny weather for only half the day.

Ha! Take that, sales people, with your stupid floor-to-ceiling windows.

I took a walk on my lunch break around the South Bank yesterday since it was so nice. Well … it was sunny and fairly warm. Good enough for me!

Hello, city flowers.

OXO tower in the background.

I went back to the office and turned on my space heater. 😦

When I got home I made a chunky broccoli “cheese” soup.

Roughly, this is what I used:

1/2 bag frozen broccoli
Vegetable stock cube
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
1/2 cup shredded vegan cheddar
1 chopped red onion
1 clove garlic
water
salt

I cooked the broccoli in a big pan with maybe half a cup of water. I added a bit more later, but not too much because I don’t like runny soup. I lightly sautéed the onion and garlic while this was cooking, then added everything to the pan to cook together a bit longer. Add it to the food processor and you’re done. It’s such a simple, quick recipe that packs a ton of flavor and is super healthy as it’s mostly broccoli.

As you know I’m not big on processed foods, however, last week I decided to try some dairy-free cheeses. I figured if they were decent I could use them occasionally. The cheese I used in my spinach dip didn’t make much of a difference and I won’t use it again. This brand, Sheese, was really great in this soup!

I’m sad to say that a small amount of this vegan cheddar made the soup taste very much like the broccoli cheese soup I am used to getting back in the US. The reason I’m sad to say this is because I used to use a small amount of REAL cheddar to make this soup, and while it was great, it didn’t taste like American broccoli cheese soup. This makes me wonder what kind of “cheese” they are using at all these chain restaurants!

You can tell this soup is mostly broccoli:

I love chunky soups, so I put it in the food processor just long enough to break up the chunks.

I adore this soup. Can you tell? It’s one of my favorite things to make, and it’s by far my favorite soup.

Mmmm …

2 thoughts on “Sun in the City (and healthy broccoli cheese soup!)

  1. Ahaha, I don’t think you DO want to know what goes into good ol’ U.S. broccoli “cheese” soup. The deliciousness is in the unknowing 🙂 Preetty soup–and even prettier flowering trees! I’m sort of in a corner at work, which is the worst combo of not really getting a window, but still knowing the nice weather is out there…at least today is rainy!

    • Thanks!

      I had that situation once too!! I was alllll the way in the corner, and the windows were so far away so I knew how nice it was, but couldn’t even enjoy being close to a window (as if that’s “enjoyment”).

What are your thoughts?

