I love pubs too, too much.

In the US if you are recommending a good restaurant to your friends you’ll undoubtedly go on and on about the quality of the food, the decor, etc. In London, if you’re recommending a restaurant it wouldn’t be uncommon to talk about the food and the service.

“The food was great, and they were so … nice!”

I’m so used to dealing with the attitude that I’m doing them a favor by eating at their restaurant that I don’t get upset anymore at the sometimes outright angry attitude of staff. This makes it even more of a shock when a restaurant/pub staff is nice.

After two years of being in the UK, I went back home last year and I was shocked. Everyone was SO nice. I was like: Everyone here loves me! I’m a rock star!

A couple weeks ago when my cousin was in London for business we met up in Wimbledon for dinner. I took him to my favorite pub in South West London, The Alexandra.

I don’t know what’s different about this pub, but they are so nice. I’ve been here dozens of times, and the food is always great and there are always multiple friendly people.

It’s especially great in the summer because they have a rooftop patio. I used to get pie platters and eat in the sunshine!

It’s not like they simply hired one happy person – everyone is friendly. Even though the pub was busy we had three separate people coming to check on us.

All the food is always presented so well and a new menu is printed every day.

I had the special, a beetroot & mushroom lasagne. It was very good, but I’m not used to eating so much cheese so I wish the ratio had been more beetroot than cheese.

I wouldn’t normally comment on fries, “chips,” because I don’t like them, but oh em gee. These fries were amazing.

When my sister was little she used to say, “I love you TOO, TOO MUCH.”

That’s how I feel about pubs.

I love them TOO, TOO MUCH.

8 thoughts on “I love pubs too, too much.

  1. Does England use the same tipping system as the U.S.? I feel like that would impact service a bit. I mean, why be nice if your pay isn’t based on it? But wow, that place sounds gooood. Pie platter? Count me in.

    • Ummmmm man. I’m STILL not sure. I don’t know if anyone is sure. I always leave a tip, because it’s in my blood. (unless the service is horrible!). One thing I can tell you for sure though is that there is no separate minimum wage for tip-workers. So they all make the same as anyone else, and any tips they get are on top of that. So I think that, combined with the already more cynical attitude of the British people (which I love!), is what causes such uncaring service.

  2. I want to go there. Like now.

    Sicily really doesn’t have places like this – er, I haven’t found any yet. If I ever do, I would be there at least one weekend a month.

    Your photos are so wonderful – I’m always impressed with them. The food ones make me drool and the final photo in this sequence made the scene so warm and welcoming that I am dying to stop in for a friendly meal…

    • If you ever decide to pop over to London for a quick Euro vacation I’d be glad to show you around and you can bet I’d take you to this pub!

      And thank you for your kind words about the photos πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: A visit to Will & Kate’s new house | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

