BBQ tempeh on naan

Tempeh. WTF is it?

I bought some at Whole Foods without actually answering my own question until just before I was about to cook it. (It’s a soy product with more protein and a firmer texture than tofu – which I loved!) I knew it was used in vegetarian cooking as a kind of meat replacement, so I figured it might be good in some barbecue sauce. But I was scared and shakin’ in my lil’ boots.

The package conveniently had no directions other than “steam, bake or fry.” Basically … heat it up.

OK … for how long?? Any prep necessary?? Thanks to the blog world, I was set to go in just a couple minutes.

I had originally intended to make a barbecue “meat”ball sub type concoction, but I had some leftover naan bread from a meal I made a friend a few days ago, so this was born:

I cooked the diced tempeh with a whole, sliced white onion in some olive oil and a bit of water for about 10 minutes, and then I added barbecue sauce and cooked for another 10 minutes. I tossed in a couple handfuls of small button mushrooms to cook for the last couple minutes and then it was done.

Incredibly easy, quick, flavorful meal.

My heart told me to get rocket, but my head told me it would be fun to get some romaine and have mini lettuce wraps as well.

Thanks, head! The barbecue tempeh was great on the baked naan, but it was even better rolled up and eaten in lettuce wraps.

I packed up the rest of my tempeh friends in my lunch box and experienced the joy all over again at work last night.

Someday I hope to live in a place where I have room to have a proper food photography set up. Kitchen floor by the trash cans? Not so appetizing.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

10 thoughts on “BBQ tempeh on naan

  1. That’s hilarious. I would never know that’s how you accomplish your food photos–they always look so amazing, with perfect lighting! I guess I might have to steal your technique since mine always turn out looking like crap!

    On another note, the tempeh looks delicious. Just not sure how I feel about it and tofu in general. I guess I should do more research before I make any decisions:) I’d love to hear your thoughts, especially if you’ve looked into it at all!

    • Your pictures are great!!! 🙂

      I’ve looked into it a bit, but never bothered too much because I don’t like soy milk, and I rarely buy tofu. I hear so much about it being controversial though, which I assume has to do with GMO soy? If that’s the case, most products over here, including the tofu, aren’t GMO if I’m correct. And I think tempeh is a lot less processed than tofu, so is more nutritious.

  2. Mmm, I love tempeh! And honestly–I don’t even bother heating it up. I just roughly crumble it and add that stuff to a salad. But I like it’s almost bitter tang. Which does go well with the bitter tang of arugula. I didn’t get to my good grocery store this week, so I ended up with romaine instead of arugula, too. *Sigh* I suppose I’ll survive…

What are your thoughts?

