New friends

In the foodie world I’ve made a few new friends recently:

Chia seeds

Bulgur wheat

Cashew butter

Three for three!

I’m trying to save money so this morning I resorted to a bowl of oatmeal, which I really don’t like despite loving all the individual ingredients, but it’s cheap and I had it on hand.

Oatmeal with pumpkin pie spice and rapadura sugar, topped with cashew butter, almonds, chia seeds.

I must say that I’m really, really liking cashew butter. How is this not more popular than plain ol’ peanut butter??

Yesterday I went to a lunch restaurant near my work and got a salad plate. I’d never tried bulgur wheat before and I Ioved everything about it!

20120425-231659.jpg

I always forget about this restaurant even though it’s so close to my work. It’s a little place tucked under the arches of the railway going into Waterloo station.

20120425-231713.jpg

I used to come here all the time with work friends in the summer and sit outside. Sadly we haven’t seen sunshine in a while, and I have no hopes for the immediate future.

(By the way, that Vonnegut book is excellent!)

20120425-231722.jpg

I love the little frogs!

20120425-231730.jpg

Instagram.

20120425-231739.jpg

Longest week ever?

8 thoughts on “New friends

  1. In a word, YES. LONGEST. WEEK. OF MY LIFE.

    Can you tell me more about cashew butter? What does it taste like? Nutty, I imagine, but why so yums? I’ve never had it!

    • Haha!

      Cashew butter seems maybe a bit more naturally sweet than peanut butter? Normally I like crunchy PB, but this creamy cashew nut butter is great. Definitely check it out!

  2. I got some cashew butter recently and it is so good! Then I got some almond butter which has a pretty odd texture but is also delicious. I’m so tempted by the hazelnut butter but as it’s around £3 for a teeny jar I might have to wait until I can justify it.

  3. I need more Vonnegut! Luckily I have plenty of chia seeds. And I can solve your cashew butter over peanut butter mystery! A jar of pb? $2. A jar of (cheap) CB? $8. I cringe when I “splurge” the extra dollar for sunflower seed butter. Someday I’ll get up the nerve to drop some cash and buy some cashew butter.

What are your thoughts?

