The end of summer

Tomorrow marks the end of summer in England. The news forecast today read: Diamond Jubilee Weekend – Rain Returns.

This happens every year. We get a week of brilliantly glorious sunny weather in April or May, and people start shouting, “It’s summer!”

But then it goes back to normal and summer never returns.

Still, when it’s nice in London, it’s really nice. Normally about 75-80 so it’s just hot enough to enjoy the heat but not feel like you’re choking on humidity.

This weekend I was lucky enough to get tickets to see David Sedaris recording a reading for BBC Radio 4, and he was fantastic. I’m so excited to have finally seen him speak, because I’ve been trying to see him for years.

I took my friend Chris, and the plan started like this:

me: we’ll have some prosecco and grill out!
Chris: oh man
i love summer

So we bought a £3 disposable grill from Sainsbury’s and had a cook out in my trashy backyard. Not my fault the landlord never cuts our grass!

We bought a pile of vegetables and sliced ’em long. Egg plant, zucchini, red onion, bell pepper drizzled with EVOO and topped with salt + pepper.

A pair of tuna steaks.

Chris made a really fresh cucumber + tomato + green onion salsa with lemon, olive oil, parsley, s&p that we used to top the tuna. I used the juice from the dressing to dip my bread (which we also grilled).

20120530-195247.jpg

20120530-195258.jpg

20120530-195306.jpg

It was so bright that when I accidentally left my iPhone uncovered it yelled at me and told me it was overheated and needed to be cooled immediately. My phone is the closest thing I have to a child or any kind of creature to care for, so I was distressed and praying he’d come back to life.

After too much sun and food, we went to Oxford Circus to the BBC.

20120530-195314.jpg

There are flags everywhere because of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee this weekend. Sixty years!

20120530-195331.jpg

20120530-195349.jpg

I am still so angry that I forgot my book. I could have had my book signed by David Sedaris, and actually gotten to speak to him!

I already felt special because he’d e-mailed me and gotten me on the guest list for this show, so I totally could have said, “Hey! Remember me??” He’d have likely said no, but still. Exciting.

You can kind of see him sitting down in front of the small row of smart people who didn’t forget their books.

20120530-200009.jpg

His reading was fantastic, and pretty much a laugh every two seconds. I’ve read all of his books and also listened to all the audio books. He reads his own work for the audio books, which is great. I’m not one to listen to audio books, but these are perfect road trip material!

8 thoughts on “The end of summer

  1. There’s such a thing as a disposable gril?? Do they exist in the states, too? A grill-picnic just seems so perfect. Still jealous that you got a personal invite from Sedaris 😉

    Also–I overheated my iphone on an almost daily basis last summer, and it’s still going strong, so I wouldn’t worry too much.

    • I’m glad to hear your phone was ok!! I was still worried about long-term damage to my baby.

      There was a whole aisle full of disposable grills. Probably because we get only one week a year so people don’t bother having them around as clutter for the rest of the year. 🙂

  2. Picnics are great for a nice time without too much effort! I had a purely effortless picnic the other day, where we’d each bring one thing, and I brought corn on the cob. BUT a friend of mine brought FIVE different kinds of chips and THREE different dips. Delicious!
    My corn on the cob lay forgotten in the picnic basket….

    • Aww! Poor corn cob. I saw a funny picture of two corn cobs, both laying in the sun. One of them had pieces popping all over him and his friend was saying, “See, I told you to wear sunscreen.” So dorky, but so funny 🙂

  3. Pingback: Training along the Thames | realfunfood

What are your thoughts?

