New York, New York

I am going there. With Manuela. In October.

Tickets are officially booked! I’m hoping soreness from my marathon two weeks before will at that point be non-existent, because we’re already planning out our days.

If anyone has any suggestions for good vegan/vegetarian (or any at all, actually) restaurants in the city, send them my way!

Also! I’m having a 4th of July party and inviting all my European (and a Kiwi) work friends over to celebrate America’s birthday πŸ™‚ I had a few of them over for Thanksgiving and it was a good time!

We’re definitely going to play this game:

I’ve been looking through Pinterest and Foodgawker for fun party food ideas, or USA-themed food ideas. If anyone has any suggestions for this, I’m all ears!

So far I have one idea. I’m thinking about making a fruit pizza. Pastry base, thin layer of sweetened cream cheese, then stripes of blueberries and strawberries.

I saw a hideous American flag dress at Camden Market a few weeks ago, and it looked so ridiculous it might be worth buying for the party. Or I could buy this dress from Mango, because I really, really want it. Like, bad. Reeeall bad.

I was working this weekend so I missed out on the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations. (This post is turning out to be really random.)

I made some good food, but once again only had my iPhone to photograph.

Strawberry basil pesto with whole wheat pasta and rocket.

20120604-210834.jpg

Diced potatoes with olive oil, garlic, fresh oregano + basil, cherry tomatoes.

20120604-210839.jpg

I’ll leave you with two more random pictures.

The cutest cat in the entire world, Harris. He lives in Ohio, so I have to be a mom from far away.

20120604-210844.jpg

A guy at the pub last week. Wtf is he doing. He had his hands deep down his pants for about five minutes while we just sat there laughing. Loudly.

20120604-210856.jpg

10 thoughts on “New York, New York

  1. FABULOUS post, love the randomness of it!
    1. You might enjoy Tao in NYC; but I have lots of friends who live there and I’ll get some great recommendations.
    2. The Mango dress is a yes, yes, yes.
    3. Your iPhone pics are great! The dishes look amazing and I want to try them. I take most of my pictures on my iPhone, just because it is so convenient. The editing features on the camera+ app and instagram filters help all my pics look a little more fun. πŸ™‚
    4. Absolutely love human names for animals, and Harris is just perfect.
    5. Last picture — so darn funny. The kind of thing I think about doing but haven’t had the guts (not sticking my hand down the back of my pants, of course). Kind of a “Glamour Don’t” in the pub world.
    Fondly,
    Lisa

  2. Yay! Sooo excited about the trip!!

    And yeah, we totally need to play that game at the party :). A pinata would also be cool. Maybe replace the sweets with something appropriate, such as uhm, confetti with prepositions written on them! haha πŸ™‚ don’t worry, I don’t really mean it…

  3. I’ll be in New York this weekend! So yeah, I’ll definitely have some recommendations for ya, and I’ll try to remember where I’ve gone on previous trips there (although the most memorable “random and amazing Dim Sum place somewhere in Chinatown” might not help you out too much…).

  4. You’re coming to New York? That’s where I live! We should totally hang out.

    Also, fruit pizza is the bomb.

  5. Ooh man, I don’t know any vegan restaurants in NY, but if you ever find ourself in LA, do me the favor of going to Cafe Gratitude! (And then posting about the delicious food you ate there so I can live vicariously through you.) It’s a bit of a hippie place where everything is positive and happy. Everything on the menu is titled I AM COMFORTED or I AM HEARTY.
    I have a post about it on my food blog, http://fourthbroomstick.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/whats-cookn-in-cali/

    On my friend’s return from a year long internship in France, we hosted an “American” party for her – naturally, we had grilled burgers, bbq baked beans, etc, and for dessert, because brownies apparently aren’t very good in France, something called HULK brownies. http://fourthbroomstick.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/hulk-brownies/

    • Those brownies look amazing!! I love the addition of espresso powder to them – I think that’d really set them apart.
      Did you like LA on the whole? I went to San Diego and loved it but I thought LA was rammed with so much traffic it was hard to get anywhere. I don’t know, maybe it’s easy to get around on public transportation there? You don’t here about that though, like you do in NY or London so maybe not. But in any case I bet California has tons of really good veggie restaurants!

What are your thoughts?

