Nine miles through central London

Yesterday was my longest run in my month of marathon training.

I had to take a week off because I over did it last week, and I’ve never before moved my body nine miles in one direction without the aid of a vehicle, so I was nervous.

Luckily I had two people to run “with” yesterday. One actually with me, and one international running buddy. Jill, from The Cinquecento Project, is a fellow Mid-Westerner but lives in Italy, so she e-mailed me saying she’d coordinate to run nine miles at the same time. Really fun idea and I hope we can keep doing it! If anyone else wants to join in, let me know!

Although you’re not actually running together it’s cool to imagine you’re not alone and it also gives you more accountability because you know another person is going to be running.

My other running buddy was a friend from work. Normally I joke around and ask people if they want to run however many miles with me on the weekend and I usually get a head shake a laugh, but Hugh was crazy enough to agree to run with me. I didn’t believe it at first. I was like, “Ummm, what? Really?!?”

We met at Green Park, by Buckingham Palace, at 3 pm and did a giant loop around Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, St James’ Park, past Waterloo and back around to Embankment.
20120617-110949.jpg

Hello, Queen!

20120617-111014.jpg

I didn’t want to overdo it so we stopped after every mile and stretched and had water. And took pictures!

There was some kind of parade going on, and while we were taking pictures I stepped to the edge of the curb and noticed a bus pulling up.

Here’s the face of someone who thinks they’re going to get hit.

20120617-111032.jpg

20120617-111053.jpg

We ran along the parade and into Kensington Gardens. I’d never been to this part before, but it was beautiful and full of dirt paths so we didn’t have to run on the hard pavement. I think this was a huge help for my shins as well.

20120617-160907.jpg

20120617-160924.jpg

20120617-111800.jpg

20120617-111120.jpg

20120617-111129.jpg

20120617-111143.jpg

20120617-111218.jpg

20120617-111154.jpg

I’m such a tourist. With all the pictures we took you’d never guess we both live and work here.

All the sites we saw on this run made me think perhaps I should do a long run in every city I visit. See everything in a couple hours versus a couple days!

20120617-111200.jpg

We crossed the river at about mile seven, and had to walk most of the bridge because it was packed with actual tourists.

20120617-111212.jpg

We’d been in parks all day, but ended at Embankment so we had to stretch on a concrete slab.

20120617-111244.jpg

I went home, made a giant dinner that I ate as fast as I could and then iced my legs with broad beans (I’m a proud veggie lover, but broad beans = gross). I ain’t wastin’ no peas on shin icing. Peas are most definitely on my “get in muh belly” list.

Although I’m pretty sore today, I’m very happy to say I’m not having an ounce of shin pain! This makes me feel pretty confident and I’m already looking forward to next week’s 10 miles.

14 thoughts on “Nine miles through central London

  1. 9 miles?!? That is amazing! Way to go!! I’m seriously impressed.

    Your Buckingham Palace pictures remind me of the time my friend and I got separated from our moms and tour group there. We were sophomores in high school, so this was before cell phones. I can’t even remember how we found them again, but I know it wasn’t at the Palace. We had to navigate London alone to find the restaurant where the group was meant to eat lunch. Fun times! And I almost forgot all about it:)

    • You’ve traveled so much!! I don’t know what people did before cell phones. That’s impressive that you managed to ever find them again, because London is SO confusing. It took me a long time to be able to navigate around because none of the streets make any sense at all.

      And yep, I’m seriously sore today from that run. We took it rather easy with a lot of stretching breaks, but it definitely took its toll on my muscles!

      • I haven’t really traveled that much, not nearly as much as I’d like! I’ve been lucky with a few big trips, but there is still so much that I want to explore! Maybe someday….. 🙂

  2. Bad ass! Way to run many many miles! I love the idea of a virtual running buddy–you know, minus the running (for me). I’d totally coordinate a walk while others run though, haha.

  3. Pingback: Cross Continental Training Run | The Cinquecento Project

  4. Pingback: Summer nights | realfunfood

  5. Wow, you’re doing well with your training! Up to 9 miles! I’ve also never moved my body for that long at one time, so kudos to you! And what a great track you get to run on!

    • Thank you! I never thought I’d be able to do it, but I’ve been using Hal higdon’s training plan and although it’s a lot work it makes it really doable. I don’t want to say easy, but you know what I mean! 🙂

  6. Pingback: 10 miles in Murder Common | realfunfood

  7. What a fun post! I love that you stopped for so many pictures, that had to make running 9 miles more pleasant. I’m jealous that you can run at 3pm…it’s so hot and humid here (DC area) that I have to run at the crack of dawn or I wilt like a flower.

    Hugh is a trooper. I did a 10 mile race in April, but haven’t run more than 4 miles in months. You’re already too far along in your marathon training for me to run along! Good luck! Found you @ Jill’s blog.

    • I just can’t do those long runs without breaks for stretching, which of course I use for taking pictures!! I can’t run in the heat either, so in that sense England is good but I really do miss the heat!
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

What are your thoughts?

