Happy early birthday, USA

I haven’t had anything to say this week, so I haven’t blogged much. Maybe it’s something in the air, because Laura recently wrote a similar post about having nothing to say and it made me laugh. I used to get so angry when my aunt would say this to me: “If you’re bored then you’re boring.”

I’d be like, I’m not boring! I just have nothing to say, think about, write about or do. Maybe I am boring.

I do have exciting stuff planned for this weekend. My house is about to be all decked out in American goodies for an early Fourth of July party. I figured all my English/international friends would love to celebrate America’s independence, so I’m having a small get together with food + alcohol, and most importantly, decorations:

20120622-113338.jpg

I pretty much bought at least one of everything. It’s going to be like a five-year-old’s birthday party, except for the good ol’ US and A.

I got so excited that I modelled some of the stuff for myself before work this morning. Fashion show for one!

20120622-113408.jpg

My only regret was that they didn’t have a ridiculous American flag dress.

20120622-113415.jpg

On the menu:

Cornbread
Burgers
Greek salad
Spinach salad with strawberries, walnuts and balsamic vinegar
Guacamole
Apple pie
Potato salad
Some other stuff.

People are bringing a few side dishes. I guess the menu isn’t 100% ‘merican, but it’ll do!

Also, I’ve been listening to this song a lot. Sexy Sushi. Obsessed.

8 thoughts on “Happy early birthday, USA

  1. I have had zero to say this week too and actually thought about posting about that last night but then I couldn’t even come up with a clever/funny way to say THAT, so I did nothing. It annoys me how sometimes there is so much that I want to post about and then other times? NOTHING!

    Have fun celebrating good ol’ ‘Merica! Glad you’re representing for us across the pond! 🙂

    • Haha … I might have to put on a Toby Keith song or two!

      But yeah sometimes I go through weeks where I want to blog twice a day, then some months it will be a struggle to post once a week.

  2. At least I have the heat as an excuse round my parts, but geez, sometimes it’s just too hard to be creative! What are you making for the party? Burgers, hot dogs? Apple pies?

    • See how uninspired I am? I write a (primarily) food blog and didn’t even think about writing what I’m going to make. I’ll edit the post now and pretend like it was always there…

What are your thoughts?

