10 miles in Murder Common

My mood is stinky lately. Reeeeall smelly. Like a foot.

I hate that I’m so affected by bad weather, but I can’t get rid of this feeling that I just want to go home and enjoy a normal life where I can go outside. Everything about my life in London is great and I’m really happy … but so unhappy at the same time.

Saturday morning was kind of good, weather wise. I ran 10 miles in Wimbledon Common, but I started to get upset toward the end of my run because it was getting cloudy and rainy, and stayed that way for the rest of the day – including for my party!

20120625-170523.jpg

I was loving Wimbledon Common because I had no idea there were so many trails and private places. I started thinking it would be a place where I could easily be killed. Later when I told one of my friends about how amazing Wimbledon Common was, the first thing he said was that a woman was murdered there a few years back. Great!

I don’t think I need any more details. It’s a great place, and if you haven’t been you definitely need to check it out!

20120625-170540.jpg

20120625-170552.jpg

20120625-170603.jpg

I didn’t have a running partner this time, but 10 miles (mostly) wasn’t as hard as I thought. It’s amazing how quickly you get in shape. Up until the fourth mile I still felt great and wasn’t tired at all.

Then I came across some soccer fields that had a track spray painted on the grass. For some reason I don’t really mind running around a track. I wouldn’t want to do it for 10 miles, but 2-3 is fine. I kind of just space out and don’t even think about running.

Plus, running around the track enabled me to set down my fanny pack and water. Yeah, that’s right. I wore a fanny pack. Even though I’m a pretty big supporter of fanny packs and can’t wait until the day they come back into fashion, any time I wear one I still pray I don’t run into anyone I know.

I own two fanny packs.

20120625-170619.jpg

20120625-170645.jpg

The last mile was so tough. My legs felt dead, and even though I’d brought energy bars for the occasion, I was too tired. I still managed to run, but at the slowest of paces. My knees were also hurting, which has been worrying me.

I half-ran, half-hobbled past the fair in Wimbledon Village, where there were lots of food tents, activities and tons of horses.

20120625-170654.jpg

By that evening my legs were really feeling the run. Even though at the time I felt like I had a good run, I was doubting my ability to run this marathon. I felt really badly, but that was partially due to the fact that I hadn’t eaten all day. I was too busy cooking and serving to actually eat, so by bedtime I felt awful. All I could think was: if I feel this terrible after 10 miles, how am I ever going to complete the longer runs to finish 26 miles??

I have a few shorter distances before it picks back up in a couple weeks, so I’m hoping these will be better! And of course I’ll be sure to focus on proper nutrition and eating – that was a bad one-off.

It also helps that my blogging friend Jill has decided to get a bit crazy and sign up for a marathon herself, so she says she’ll be running the distances with me – except in Italy 🙂

She has signed up for a marathon in Budapest, which I think is SO cool. I kind of wish I’d signed up for a European race, and turned it into a racing holiday. Perhaps next year – depending on how my first marathon works out!

9 thoughts on “10 miles in Murder Common

  1. Death-trap or not, that park is still gorgeous! And how you feel about rainy weather is how I feel about winter. It just…gets you down. And err, if you can run that far already, I feel like a marathon will be no big deal by the time you get there.

  2. Two things: Fanny packs! and Recovery food.

    Fanny packs are still the rage for Sicilian men. Well, they are not the rage, I guess, but I have seen plenty of them, enough to call them commonplace here. At first I thought it was odd, but I am accustomed to it now.

    Recovery food!!! It sounds like you’ve pieced it together in this post that while the small carbs during a run are important, the food afterward is even more important. I typically have to make sure I have ready access to unlimited water supply and about 400-500 extra calories in my next meal after any run over 9 miles. I don’t really calculate calories in food that much, so that’s just my made-up estimate; I just know that I eat more at my next meal or I’ll end up feely crappy (physically).

    Also, I’m not sure why, but I do better if I have reason to walk around for a couple hours the evening after a morning long run.

    • Haha!! You should get some pictures of these men wearing fanny packs. Hilarious. Are they stylish as well? Mine’s just black, but I could really go for a hot pink one. Or some kind of neon 80s color.

      yeah, I haven’t estimated calories either or counted, but I just eat a ton of food because it seems like I’m never full.

      I’m having to take another week off because of my knee 😦

  3. oh yea, and I am in love with the lake shots you’ve been including lately. The sea here is gorgeous, but I grew up with silky smooth Wisconsin lakes, so I feel homesick looking at the lake pics. I especially like the tone of the lake in the picture with the duck in this post. sigh.

  4. I totally hear you on the weather thing! As cool as I think it would be to live somewhere like London or Seattle, I know without a shadow of a doubt that I couldn’t do it because of the weather. I need sunshine. Weather has a profound effect on me. When it’s gorgeous outside, I can be feeling totally crappy on the inside, but the sun and breeze will totally lift my spirits- or it can do the opposite. I know that sounds nuts, but it’s true. I hope the sun shows his face for you soon!

    P.S. I’m really disappointed that you didn’t include a picture of the fanny pack:(

    • That makes me feel better! I have actually been considering moving back to Florida because of this. Oh, and I meant to take a pic of the pack! Next time I will. I need to get this trend rolling 😉

What are your thoughts?

